Irrationally rational

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Irrationally rational

I am the typical flew all my life and loved it, then one day I didn't anymore, and then it got worse. I developed anxiety in other aspects of my life which just added itself on to my already fragile relationship with flying. I haven't flown since January 017 and I'm flying tomorrow. I have gone through all emotions to the point of crying, not so much out of fear as out of frustration : I used to recruit pilots for a living, I have seen everything they need to do to get here, sat in interviews, worked in the operation center .. I'll be flying with the airline I used to work for, the 'best airline in the world ' - I know these pilots and I trust the process that got them there, the fleet is brand new, the route is rather short and pretty peaceful, very little turbulence as per the forecast map - 5h55 flight .. my rational knows it is safe and I'll be okay.

But my irrational lashes on to the unvertainty, the part beyond our control- does Murphy's law still apply with a machine engineered for everything to run smooth? My mind goes into this fantasy mode Of what ifs and I panic all the while thinking I'm a bit arrogant to make 300 people's flights, safety all about me.. even more so when I think about the millions of people that will be airborne at the same time I am,