Southwest planes and mechanic's safety claims

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Southwest planes and mechanic's safety claims

I'm a soar grad (many moons ago) and have pretty loyally flown southwest for my domestic flights here in the US. Their service has always been good, super friendly, on time, free bags, and I love the ease of booking with points on them. I've been following this story first about SW declaring an "operational emergency" grounding some 40 planes and now the mechanics are speaking out about being pressured to put unsafe planes back in service in this story here. I'm wondering what Capt. Tom or others thoughts are on this and given that I have an upcoming flight at the end of March on SW, I am a bit concerned and wonder if I should be looking to the larger airlines like United, Delta, American until this all gets resolved?
    Mechanics say that Southwest is threatening them for reporting safety concerns; the airline covers its ears

Hi,

Thanks for asking about this. I just did a blog about it. You can read it at https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/b...ts-really-mean but I've also pasted it below. What Do Airline Mechanic Complaints Really Mean?

The playing field is tilted. Employees get nowhere unless they fight dirty.

Recently, there have been news reports that some mechanics say their airline’s management is pressuring them to not enter notes in an airliner's log book to show the plane need maintenance. At a unionized airline, if mechanics are being pressured, they can go to their union, and the union can address the complaint with management. When complaints by an airline's mechanics show up in the news, I get emails from my fear of flying clients asking if the airline is safe.