Trip Report: AUS-BNA-BOS-BWI-AUS

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trip Report: AUS-BNA-BOS-BWI-AUS

It had been three years since I had flown and I found myself a few weeks before a wonderful vacation planned for Boston ... with a lot of anticipatory anxiety. I continued to work on my Strengthening Exercise in the days before the trip. The night before I could hardly sleep I was so wound up. As I mentioned in another post, I was mad at myself because I knew SOAR works. I have been using it successfully for more than 10 years now. Yet, as Capt. Tom pointed out in my other post ... I was no longer desensitized after not flying for three years.

The morning of the trip arrived and I can't say enough good things about the Southwest Airlines gate agents. On the AUS-BNA leg and BNA-BOS leg, agents at both airports gave me a pre-boarding pass which allowed me to visit with the pilots. It was a great day to fly as they all told me and they were right. I could probably count on my hand the number of bumps we had between Austin, TX, and Boston. The pilots were accommodating and friendly and encouraging. I gave "plugs" for SOAR and Capt. Tom to all showing them my letter from Capt. Bunn explaining that I am a recovering nervous flyer. The only issue occurred on my second leg from BNA-BOS. Probably about 10 minutes into the flight, I got that panicky feeling of "oh my god, I'm really high up and I can't get out of here!" This has happened to me before but it took this experience for me to realize it was something I needed to add in to my Strengthening Exercise routine. The panic lasted a few minutes and I was able to calm myself down using 5-4-3-2-1. The irony of all of this is that I love weather and I am fascinated by planes, so when I'm feeling confident and calm in that cabin, I love looking out the window. Sure enough the ride up the East Coast to Boston was phenomenal! The coastline and the ships and sailboats and what not ... just wonderful views.